Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Usable Pins on the Duemilanove when using the ArduiNIX  (Read 7740 times)
cooper144
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« on: August 20, 2009, 09:30:26 AM »

Hi there,

I'm curious as to what pins on the Arduino Duemilanove are still or can be still usable after attaching the ArduiNIX, perhaps with two-layer header pins soldered on (pictured below). The reason for this is to set the clock more accurately with external circuitry and perhaps still use the serial port to communicate with a computer.

Thanks again,
Dave

Logged

mloebl
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2009, 07:48:44 AM »

I think when I looked at the schematics, the digital 2 - 13 pins were all taken, but pins 0 and 1 that are for comm are open.  I was thinking of connecting a GPS to those pins as one possibility, but in theory you could probably connect to a computer with them.

« Last Edit: August 21, 2009, 08:14:12 AM by nonentity » Logged

nonentity
Co-Owner, Robotpirate
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 182



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2009, 08:14:21 AM »

I think when I looked at the schematics, the digital 2 - 13 pins were all taken, but pins 0 and 1 that are for comm are open.  I was thinking of connecting a GPS to those pins as one possibility, but in theory you could probably connect to a computer with them.



-Mike

Yes, this is true. 

Also, the analog pins 0 - 5 are free to connect to.
Logged

nonentity
Robotpirate Founder
www.robotpirate.com

cooper144
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2009, 11:25:23 AM »

Say, if one of the anode pins are unused, could it be used by something else?

I suppose in the worst case an Arduino Mega could be used in place of the Duemilanove.

Thanks as always,
Dave
Logged

mloebl
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2009, 11:36:13 AM »

The Arduino Mega is an option... I attached a photo so you can see the clearance; if you mount the pins to the top there should be plenty of room.

-Mike
« Last Edit: August 21, 2009, 11:37:57 AM by mloebl » Logged

cooper144
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2009, 05:51:00 PM »

What about using one of the anode pins if it's otherwise unused?
Logged

nonentity
Co-Owner, Robotpirate
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 182



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2009, 06:22:26 PM »

What about using one of the anode pins if it's otherwise unused?

I would definitely NOT recommend using the anode pin for anything other than anode out.

That's some high voltage there....
Logged

nonentity
Robotpirate Founder
www.robotpirate.com

cooper144
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2009, 12:49:49 PM »

I would definitely NOT recommend using the anode pin for anything other than anode out.

That's some high voltage there....

Sorry, I meant something more along the lines of not connecting anything to anode #4, and then using pin 13 on the Arduino. Is that possible?

Thanks,
Dave
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: