Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Set Buttons on ArduiNIX  (Read 7125 times)
Carnifex Maximus
Newbie
*
Posts: 4



View Profile Email
« on: April 10, 2011, 03:39:32 PM »

I have been experimenting with the ArduiNIX sketch that I posted and I was wondering if anyone has tried using tactile switches to set the time. 

I have tried this using the following code, but no luck with it.

Quote
#define HourSet 0
#define MinsSet 2

{
  if (HourSet == 1);
  {
    lowerHours + 1;
  }
  
  if (MinsSet == 1);
  {
    lowerMins + 1;
  }


Does anyone have an idea what I'm doing wrong?
Logged

Carnifex Maximus
Newbie
*
Posts: 4



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2011, 11:49:13 AM »

My code for the switches is as follows.  I have tested this code, and it works reliably.  This code is for a 4 tube plus 2 dot clock.

#define HourSet A0 // Defines Hour Set Switch  Analog pin 0.
#define MinsSet A5 //  Defines Minute Set Switch. Analog pin 5.


void loop()     
{
  { 
  ////////////////////////////////////////
    if (digitalRead(HourSet) == 0)
    {
      clockHourSet++;
      delay(100);  //  Delay so the numbers do not change too quickly
    }
   
   
    if (digitalRead(MinsSet) == 0)
    {
      clockMinSet++;
      delay(100);
    }
  ////////////////////////////////////////
 
 
 }
 
Logged

Carnifex Maximus
Newbie
*
Posts: 4



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2011, 03:58:32 PM »

This code I wrote works, but adds an unwanted delay to the entire timekeeping operation.

I am currently working on writing a sketch without delay, so bear with me.
Logged

nonentity
Co-Owner, Robotpirate
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 182



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2011, 07:32:42 AM »

This code I wrote works, but adds an unwanted delay to the entire timekeeping operation.

I am currently working on writing a sketch without delay, so bear with me.

Great work!
Logged

nonentity
Robotpirate Founder
www.robotpirate.com

Liquidretro
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2011, 11:53:20 AM »

I was wondering how I set the time on this.  I am going to build a custom enclosure for my clock so plugging it into USB wont really work.  Switches like this would be a great idea.  I am making a 6 tube clock myself.  How hard would it be to modify this code for that?  Also could there be a button to turn the tubes on and off?  My thought is to save tube life but still keep the time so I dont have to reset it if I unplugged it.  Has anyone done anything like this?
Logged

Silvio Costigliolo
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2011, 07:21:19 AM »

Hello, Liquidretro,

I
Logged

catdotgif
Newbie
*
Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2011, 09:59:14 PM »

My tact switch time set code, which includes debounce (so that erroneous 'bounce' clicks are not detected):
Code:
/**********Time Set Routine**********************/
boolean switchread = 1;
switchread = digitalRead(TIME_SET);
if (switchread == LOW) {
   while (switchread == LOW) {
     switchread = digitalRead(TIME_SET);
     }//do nothing while the switch is low
   delay(10);
   timeset = ((timeset + 1) % 4);
   }

//Set hours
if (timeset == 1) {
      //mask off everything but the hours
      NumberArray[2] = 999;
      NumberArray[3] = 999;
      NumberArray[4] = 999;
      NumberArray[5] = 999;

      boolean switchread = 1;
      switchread = digitalRead(TIME_UP);
      if (switchread == LOW) {
        while (switchread == LOW) {
          switchread = digitalRead(TIME_UP);
          }//do nothing while the switch is low
          delay(10);
        DateTime adjust (now.unixtime() + 3600); //set hours + 1
        RTC.adjust(adjust); // set to new time
        }
       
      switchread = digitalRead(TIME_DOWN);
      if (switchread == LOW) {
        while (switchread == LOW) {
          switchread = digitalRead(TIME_DOWN);
          }//do nothing while the switch is low
          delay(10);
        DateTime adjust (now.unixtime() - 3600); //set hours + 1
        RTC.adjust(adjust); // set to new time
        }
  }//end set hours
     
//Set minutes
if (timeset == 2) {
      //mask off everything but the minutes     
      NumberArray[0] = 999;
      NumberArray[1] = 999;
      NumberArray[4] = 999;
      NumberArray[5] = 999;

      boolean switchread = 1;
      switchread = digitalRead(TIME_UP);
      if (switchread == LOW) {
        while (switchread == LOW) {
          switchread = digitalRead(TIME_UP);
          }//do nothing while the switch is low
          delay(10);
        DateTime adjust (now.unixtime() + 60); //set mins + 1
        RTC.adjust(adjust); // set to new time
        }
       
      switchread = digitalRead(TIME_DOWN);
      if (switchread == LOW) {
        while (switchread == LOW) {
          switchread = digitalRead(TIME_DOWN);
          }//do nothing while the switch is low
          delay(10);
        DateTime adjust (now.unixtime() - 60); //set mins - 1
        RTC.adjust(adjust); // set to new time
        }
     
      }//end set minutes

//Set seconds
if (timeset == 3) {
      //mask off everything but the seconds
      NumberArray[0] = 999;
      NumberArray[1] = 999;
      NumberArray[2] = 999;
      NumberArray[3] = 999;

      boolean switchread = 1;
      switchread = digitalRead(TIME_UP);
      if (switchread == LOW) {
        while (switchread == LOW) {
          switchread = digitalRead(TIME_UP);
          }//do nothing while the switch is low
          delay(10);
        DateTime adjust (now.unixtime() + 1); //set seconds + 1
        RTC.adjust(adjust); // set to new time
        }
       
      switchread = digitalRead(TIME_DOWN);
      if (switchread == LOW) {
        while (switchread == LOW) {
          switchread = digitalRead(TIME_DOWN);
          }//do nothing while the switch is low
        delay(10);
        DateTime adjust (now.unixtime() - 2); //set seconds - 1
        RTC.adjust(adjust); // set to new time
        }
     
      }//end set hours






I use three switches.  The first enters 'time set' mode, and each time it is pressed it goes to set hours, minutes, and seconds, then exits time set mode.  The other two buttons increment and decrement.  It just lives in the main loop() statement.
 
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: